Pittsburgh Rock & Roll Legends Induction

Thursday, April 27, 2017

Show Time: 7:00 PM / Doors Open: 6:00pm


The Pittsburgh Rock ‘N Roll Legends Awards, the ceremony held each April to celebrate the annual honoree inductions, raises money for the Pittsburgh-based Cancer Caring Center, which provides FREE emotional support and other related services to cancer patients and their families. The Awards launched in January, 2014 with the induction of local legendary concert promoter Rich Engler as the inaugural Legend, raising more than $60,000 for the Center.

Organizers of the Legends Awards and a team of leading local musicians and industry experts have created an entity that will, over time, recognize the many individuals who have played an integral role in making rock and roll music part of the fabric of life in Western Pennsylvania.

A permanent Legends display, created by nearby Grove City’s Wendell August Forge, features a hand-crafted metal guitar against a vibrant and striking painting of the city skyline by highly regarded local artist Johno Prascak. It hangs prominently at the Hard Rock Café in Station Square and will be updated as new Legends members are inducted.

Follow the Legends on Facebook and Twitter.


Starting with the 2015 Awards, we established a comprehensive nomination and voting process,

where a “class” of individuals or groups will be inducted as Legends – with the 2016 categories being:

• Modern Era Legends (solo artists or groups with 20+ years in the business)

• Music Industry Professional Legends (producers, promoters, managers, writers, etc., with 20+ years in the business)

• Legacy Legends (solo artists or groups with 40+ years in the business)

•Music Broadcaster Legends (Radio/TV DJs, VJs, hosts, etc., with 20+ years in the business)

• Award for Musical Excellence (performer or songwriter with roots in the Greater Pittsburgh area from rock and roll or other music genre with 20+ years in the business). This award is chosen by the Nominating Committee.

NOTE: The most successful iteration of any group will be the one nominated.